Wednesday, March 27, 2013

Sands Motor Hotel - Tulsa, OK

This motel promises "Continuous music at all times" on the back - for real. Sign me up!

Tuesday, March 26, 2013

Towne Centre Motel - Seattle, WA

One of the great curiosities of the 1950s and 60s was how they'd "classy up" the names of brands or buildings by giving them olde english spellings. Hence, "Towne Centre Motel".

Friday, March 22, 2013

Rainbow Motel - Green Brook Township, NJ

It would seem that the motel sign is supposed to approximate the shape of the state of Texas, right? With a horribly-drawn sleepy Rip Van Winkle sort of fella with a candle and sleeping cap? Awesome.

Thursday, March 21, 2013

Frankenmuth Bavarian Inn - Frankenmuth, MI

Amazing. Check out the Glockenspiel Tower, the guy in lederhosen, and the Bavarian Inn party trolly.

Tuesday, March 19, 2013

Starlight Motel - Abeline, TX

The sign looks like it would have been amazing at night, with progressive neon arrows on two fronts.

Monday, March 18, 2013

Surf Motel - Santa Rosa, NM

The Surf Motel definitely knew what they were doing with this one. Round up every woman with a bathing suit staying at the hotel - and put 'em on the card! Check out the woman in the flashy gold suit in the middle, vogueing for the camera.

Friday, March 15, 2013

Carousel Motel - Anaheim, CA

Fantastic early 60s motel that lasted into the 80s. I know, because I remember this one....

Thursday, March 14, 2013

Wednesday, March 13, 2013

Tuesday, March 12, 2013

Capri Motel - Modesto, CA

In case you can't see it, our hotel is RIGHT HERE! FOLLOW THE ARROW! HERE!

Monday, March 11, 2013

Page Boy Motel - Page, AZ

Love the sign, but gawd, look at those rooms. Good thing the Glen Canyon Dam, whatever that is, is only one and a half miles away.

Friday, March 8, 2013

Cactus Pete's - Jackpot, NV

Located in the no-man's land of Northern Nevada, "Halfway between Twin Falls, ID and Wells, NV". It has a casino and a bar, and looks like a helluva place to park your Packard.

Thursday, March 7, 2013

Pyramid Motel - Phoenix, AZ

Postcard was sent April 23rd, 1967 to Hank and Zona Sandus in Naches, WA. The author, whose name is unintelligible, stayed here after watching the minor league Phoenix Giants play baseball that day. 

Wednesday, March 6, 2013

Voll Motel - Ukiah, CA

Owned by Jerry & Hazel Estell. This is only 2 hours from my house; I'm gonna call 'em and see if I can still stay here.

Tuesday, March 5, 2013

Satellite Motel - Springfield, MO

Love the space-age satellite/sputnik-envy ball perched on top of the sign...!

Monday, March 4, 2013

Bel Air Motel - Redding, CA

If anyone knows where this sign currently is, and if it's for sale: thejayhinman(at)gmail(dotcom), please.

Friday, March 1, 2013

Catalina Motel - Lexington, KY

I bought this thing on eBay for a few more bucks than I'd normally pay. I mean, wouldn't you???